Hidden Gluten or Gluten Free?
![Image created in non-profit canva account. It includes a image of various kinds of gluten like noodles and grains with text "celiac disease" overlaying. Disease is spelled out on dice much like boggle cubes. The two lower images are Caucasian American and African American hands holding a fist full of wheat and clutching stomach.](https://i0.wp.com/blog.hcqu.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/Dark-Brown-Modern-Digital-Marketing-Course-Promo-Facebook-Ad-4.png?fit=600%2C314&ssl=1)
Celiac disease is triggered by the consumption of the protein known as gluten, which is found in wheat, barley, and rye. For someone with celiac disease, consuming foods with gluten can include bloating, discomfort, diarrhea, constipation, fatigue, and so much more. The symptoms of celiac disease can vary widely among individuals. It is important to be aware of what food and nonfood items contain gluten and which are safe to eat or use when a person is avoiding gluten. This article is not a comprehensive list but can be a useful resource to start watchful conversations with persons suffering from celiac disease and support teams.
What types of food contain gluten?
This is a list of common foods that are grain or wheat based and contain gluten. It is not a comprehensive list. Make sure to always read nutritional labels and ingredient lists.
- Pastas:
- raviolis, dumplings, couscous, and gnocchi
- Noodles:
- ramen, udon, soba (buckwheat flour) chow mein, and egg noodles. (Looking for an alternative? Rice noodles and mung bean noodles are actually gluten free.)
- Baked Goods/Breads/Pastries:
- croissants, pita, naan, bagels, flatbreads, cornbread, potato bread, muffins, donuts, rolls, pancakes, waffles, french toast, crepes, biscuits, cakes, cookies, pie crusts, brownies
- Crackers:
- pretzels, goldfish, graham crackers
- Cereal & Granola:
- corn flakes and rice puffs often contain malt extract/flavoring
- Granola is usually made with regular oats, not gluten-free oats
- Breading & Coating Mixes:
- panko breadcrumbs
- Croutons:
- stuffings, dressings
- Sauces & Gravies (many use wheat flour as a thickener)
- traditional soy sauce, cream sauces made with a roux
- Flour tortillas
- Beer (unless explicitly gluten-free)
- Brewer’s Yeast
- Anything else that uses “wheat flour” as an ingredient
Check out Celiac Disease Foundation for more details and tips about eating gluten free. If you want more information around the sources of gluten, you can review this CDF article. Wondering where to start at the grocery store? This CDF article talks about naturally gluten-free food groups.
![](https://i0.wp.com/blog.hcqu.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/file-1.jpg?resize=600%2C400&ssl=1)
Did you know that some non-food items contain gluten, including some medications, vitamins, and herbal supplements?
Some medications can contain gluten. The issue with gluten in medication is that there is no requirement for labeling gluten or common allergens found in drug ingredients. The potential sources of gluten in medications are not well-recognized by healthcare professionals. Generic drugs may utilize different binders than name brand drugs. If you have any questions or concerns regarding any of your medications, your most reliable sources of information are your physician, pharmacist, and the drug manufacturer.
Where else is gluten lurking?
Make-up
Make-up and cosmetics are another category to watch out for gluten. Lipsticks and lip balms, which a person can easily consume, are not all gluten-free. The good news is that there are still many products that are safe from gluten available. Always read the labels on makeup products before purchasing.
Play-Doh
Working with clay can be a great destressing and expressive, sensory fidget activity. However, people with celiac disease need to be careful. Play-Doh brand playdough does contain gluten. This product should be avoided if there is any possibility that someone would eat it or if their hands are in contact with their mouth while handling it. Once again, remember to read the labels. There are safer options like purchasing gluten-free playdough or making your own. Check out this homemade playdough recipe: https://eatatourtable.com/gluten-free-playdough-2/.
Communion
Traditionally communion wafers in religious remembrances contain gluten. There are numerous disagreements over communion wafers. For many years churches have been criticized for not using “gluten free” wafers. As awareness for celiac disease is on the rise, religious communities consider how to include everyone. Some church boards have made it a priority to offer gluten-free options. Before participating in communion, check whether there is a gluten-free offering.
Straws
Many people diagnosed with celiac disease are concerned that some of the new biodegradable straws, particularly paper straws, may contain gluten. Even a small amount of gluten can be a significant issue for some people. Consider purchasing your own washable straw to take with you on the go. Or transfer bought beverages into your own bottle or cup that you are comfortable using. Do your own research to discover what options are best for you.
![](https://i0.wp.com/blog.hcqu.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/9-1.png?resize=540%2C540&ssl=1)
![](https://i0.wp.com/blog.hcqu.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/10-1.png?resize=540%2C540&ssl=1)
![](https://i0.wp.com/blog.hcqu.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/11.png?resize=540%2C540&ssl=1)
![](https://i0.wp.com/blog.hcqu.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/12.png?resize=540%2C540&ssl=1)
If you or someone you assist has been diagnosed with celiac disease, you must be vigilant. Take a deep breath as you learn to navigate the world gluten-free. Carefully check nutrition labels. Visit larger grocery stores with more gluten-free variety. You got this. Ask your physician and pharmacy for help. Research products just to be safe. A little preparation can ensure you guard against hidden gluten and remain gluten free.
![](https://i0.wp.com/blog.hcqu.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/Dark-Brown-Modern-Digital-Marketing-Course-Promo-Facebook-Ad-5.png?resize=600%2C314&ssl=1)
Images within this article not previously specified were created in non-profit Canva account.